Sweet Summertime

After a long and demanding second semester of law school, I am back! Grades are in, I made a trip back to Virginia to surprise my mom for Mother’s Day and I started my summer job at a law firm in Little Rock, AR. Where to begin with catching everyone up.

I meal prepped chicken stirfry, eggplant parmesan, and a mix of strawberries/blueberries/blackberries/raspberries.

Work

I am loving my job as a summer associate for Dover, Dixon, Horne in Little Rock. It is a sizable firm for Arkansas and my office is on the 37th floor of the tallest building in Arkansas. I have gotten to dabble in agriculture and construction law in my first week and am even getting used to rocking the suit and heels every day.

School

I finished my second semester which means my first year of law school is officially in the books! I have been looking forward to being able to pick my own classes for ages. I also finally have my transfer applications submitted so now I am just waiting to hear if I end up on the west coast or back home in Virginia. Arkansas has been really good to me, but I think it is time to move on to my next adventure.

Love Life

When I visited home, Ian got me a new ring for our fresh start. It is absolutely gorgeous and I am as in love with it as I am with him. As soon as I hear back about school transfers we are going to set a date. Another thing that we are finally going to embark on is premarital counseling. I am very excited to dive into that and see how it goes.

The other part of my love life aka Robert the Best Dog Ever is his wonderful doggy dog self. He is settled in to our new apartment for the summer and enjoying new bushes to relieve himself on. During our visit to West Virginia, he got to meet his stepbrother Bear and seeing the two of them together officially made me realize how old Robert acts.

Free Time

Now that finals are over I have had time to catch up on all of my podcasts. Currently I am listening to Dear Sugar, The Heart, CHOICE/LESS, Popaganda, Matt and Doree’s Eggcellent Adventure, and Democracy Now.

I am an official late comer to the party but I have been binge watching Gilmore Girls and am already into the third season. A new life goal is to have a mother-daughter relationship like Lorelai and Rory.

I have been to three used bookstores since I moved to Little Rock last week. I read Wild by Cheryl Strayed all in one sitting today while I was working on my sunburn at the pool. I am starting feminity by Susan Brownmiller next.

I am also incredibly excited to finally be able to get back to this blog! I can’t wait to share what I manage to get into in the big city this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

